top of page

Feat

By Sara Kandler



The jagged edge comes into view

as I approach

leaning backward as my feet pace forward

through sparse grass

need to see

how steep

how rough

how treacherous this bluff

dark red like raw meat

its crags like teeth

My chest clenches

stomach churns

blood burns


A sandy path loops around this cliff

and most sanguinely choose that route

though they know deep down it goes nowhere

they don’t probe

rely on false hopes

utter resignation


Is it alright then

to tackle this trial

head on

and who am I

to try


I turn and pulley my weight

over the rock ledge

with deepening dread

lock with your gaze

then fix mine straight ahead

legs splayed against this palisade

knees and elbows

grinding gears

me a swinging chime

dangling in the wind

sunset behind

this sheer face

mine

a straining middle aged spider woman


imagine me

a superhero


Finally touch down

my legs give with fatigue

into hard packed ground

solid under my feet

breathing now steady

a normal heartbeat


My numb fingers

nudge loose

the rappel rope

to somewhat frame

the empty cat dish in the corner

throw pillows out of place

kids running a little bit late

and of this feat

when I soared

while descending

time leaves but a trace



Comments


Download the app.png
bottom of page