top of page

A Dose of Breast Cancer Realness

By Cheri

In honor of #breastcancerawareness month, I thought I’d share a few things I’ve dealt with as a survivor! #cancerfighter


1. “I’m sicker than you are.” There’s no need to out-sick me. I appreciate but don’t necessarily want all this attention. I actually had “friends” delete me from their life and social media because they felt like their cause was worse but I was getting too much attention. Seriously? You can have it. I just want my boobs back. Thanks.


2. “There’s people everywhere raising money for you.” My friends and I have raised thousands of dollars for breast cancer patients. I’m not eligible for a cent because I have insurance and am employed. So if my amazing friends want to host fundraisers for me, it’s because I’m a good friend to them and would do the same thing. You should try it. Not to mention the money they did raise is just a percentage of the money we owe. I'm not going on extravagant trips. I don't even get my hair done. I don't have a maid. I have an 11-year-old car and live in a house from the 80’s. I'm just trying to keep my life as normal as it was before and not worry everyday about the "what-ifs."


3. “You get a boob job!” I didn’t choose this. When they removed my breasts, I became concave. So even with the biggest implants that an ethical plastic surgeon will use, I’m still smaller than I was before. Plus, I have 7-inch-long scars where my nipples used to be. Pretty sure no one requests that at their plastic surgeon appointments.


4. “I don’t know what to say to you.” Did we talk before? Why can’t you say the same things? I haven’t changed. But if you stopped talking to me, then you changed. Give me a hug. I love hugs.


5. "My so and so died from that cancer." Why do you think I want to hear this? Do you think you are encouraging me? I get that you are trying to connect with me and let me know you understand how bad it is. I wake up every day thankful that I WOKE up so I don't need a reminder that it could kill me tomorrow.


Life is tough. I could feel sorry for myself every day. But I choose life. To get up and be strong and fight.


Do I cry and get upset? Just about every day.


But this life is better than the alternative. I’m going to live my life and enjoy every single day I have left. I'm going to spend time with my family and try and keep some normalcy just in case I ever have to hear those words again, "It's cancer." I hope you never have to hear those.



Thank you for sharing your story, Cheri. SBC adores you and your realness!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Kommentare


Download the app.png
bottom of page