top of page

A Look at Breast Cancer

Updated: Oct 9, 2021

By Kate

I was diagnosed with stage 3 ER positive breast cancer in January 2018, when I was 47.


It was aggressive and fast moving, so I had 4 AC chemo infusions, followed by 12 weekly infusions of Paclitaxel first.


I then had a double mastectomy, lymph node removal, and reconstruction.

I am on an AI and have regular Zoladex injections.

Just about to be given another injection, as my bones are suffering.

Have lymphedema in affected arm and breast - constant cellulitis infections so then on antibiotics for two years.


My breast cancer could not be detected until it had spread to my lymph nodes. The mammogram couldn't find it, as it was so small, but was picked up luckily by ultrasound.

I live in London, have three kids- 23, 21, and nearly 19, and two dogs. I feel so blessed to have such a lovely support group around me, but it would be nice to have more friends who have been through the same thing and understand.


I find the regular checkups so stressful, and I am terrified it will come back.


I am going to join your Thursday night chats.



Thank you for sharing your story, Kate. SBC loves you, and we are excited to have you in Thursday Night Thrivers!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Comments


Download the app.png
bottom of page