top of page

AC Chemo

Updated: Apr 22, 2022


Prior to having my port placed, I had a brief discussion with others about the difference between receiving chemo intravenously verses through a port. Everyone has an opinion and what works well for one, may not work well for someone else. I have complete faith in my doctors and care team so when they recommended I go with the port placement, I wasn’t going to question the decision.


Even though I got an infection early on and was on a “port holiday”, that wasn’t going to stop my team from staying on track with my chemotherapy treatments! However, instead of administering it through my port, we were going to do it intravenously! (insert fainting right about now!)

Needles are not my friend and I do not handle pain well at all so when I found out that this was how I was going to receive my infusion for the next two rounds, I had a really hard time. I am not saying this is for everyone, but this definitely wasn’t for me. However, I didn’t have a choice, the chemo show had to go on!

The verdict: Now that I have experienced receiving chemo through both the port and the veins, I’m going with the port, for the win!


Comments


Download the app.png
bottom of page