top of page

Embracing My Soul

By Veronica Novy


If I could look within to see myself

As I gravitate everyday

Toward becoming the woman that I so desperately wish to be

I realize that I have brought myself from there to here in one milliliter of a second

That actually felt like an eternity

But in fact was the blink of an eye

Everyday I search for remnants and fragments to stitch together that one day will

Embrace my soul and return me to an earthly woman

Who Am I?

I know tidbits of who I was yesterday, and can only surrender parts of yesterday

to myself for myself

For my new self tomorrow

Embracing One’s Soul means finding peace within and not conforming to fit someone else notion of

Who I should be

Embracing myself means caring for me and what I represent and

Realizing that every teardrop shed was and is for a reason

It is to fill the hearts of my Mothers Mother Mother’s Mother daughter.

Embracing my Soul means finding courage and strength in the face of obstacles and danger

And not relinquishing any part of me that might leave me a microcosm of Who I am

As I surrender at the end of each day I leave it fuller that when I started

Wiser for again reckoning with the voice(s) within

And more righteous for having the guts to

Embrace My Soul.




3/8/98

1:16am

Comentarios


Download the app.png
bottom of page