top of page

Goodbyes Are Hard

Updated: Sep 2, 2021

By Matilda Flanagan (11 years old)


I cry as someone holds me

Trying to calm me

They rock me

Just like my mom did

Before she got sick

I love her and she is safe

She is home sleeping

But I dare not think

Of the chance that

She not wake

For I love her

She can’t leave

If she does

I most certainly will grieve

I cry at night

But always stay quiet

For I fright

She might not like

Waking up and seeing

Her daughter crying

I love her

They whisper in my ear

It will be OK

My swelling eyes look up

And see my dad holding me tight

I love him but I forgot

He has something to lose two

Everyone has something to risk

Their happiness

So how lucky are you If

You have something

That makes saying goodbye

So hard


Commenti


Download the app.png
bottom of page