top of page

I Saw Love

By June Chapko


In my husband’s tears, he couldn’t make my cancer go away.


In my husband’s embrace, encircling me with his protection.


I saw love when he cleaned up after me on my worst days, held my hand before surgery, and wore a smile in the recovery room.


Love was visible as I watched him play fetch with Chai when I had no energy.


I saw love when losing my hair became a game of “It’ll come back before you know it,” and him being first to find new growth.


I saw love in his patience, waiting for treatments to end.


Love was written on his face in lines.


I saw them grow last year.


Love was drawn in his smile when the words, “cancer-free” were spoken.


I saw love in his tears of joy because the cancer had gone away.


I saw love in his embrace trying to protect me forevermore.




תגובות


Download the app.png
bottom of page