top of page

Melissa Boratyn


“I was 23 years old when I noticed a small lump in my breast. My doctor told me not to worry. It was probably just a cyst. One week later, I got a call that the “cyst” was actually an aggressive form of breast cancer. After a grueling year of chemotherapy and radiation, I had lost a sense of identity after shaving my shoulder length red hair. I no longer trusted my body, but I anticipated the worst was behind me.


I was 25 years old when my cancer came back. I decided to remove both breasts to ensure that this would be my last time dealing with this disease. While I planned my double mastectomy, surgeons said nothing about the possibility of the cancer spreading into other parts of my body after the surgery.


I was 28 years old when I was diagnosed with terminal breast cancer. If my story can help even one person it’ll be worth it.”


Melissa was 32 when metastatic breast cancer stole her from this world.


Melissa’s Legacy

Melissa believed in the power of film and spent her life using that power to support women and mend impacted by cancer around the world.


We at the Melissa & Jimmy Boratyn Foundation aim to live up to the standard she set by creating art that makes an impact.


Hear Melissa on our Podcast Breast Cancer Conversations


Stay in Touch

If you have a memory, story, or photo you'd like to share, please email it to info@survivingbreastcancer.org and we will add it to this page.

Comments


Download the app.png
bottom of page