top of page

It's Still Me

By Dawn Oswald



It’s still me

The sweet, loving, caring person I have always been

I just have cancer now

I know I am terminal, but aren’t we all?

We were born, we live, and then we die

Die from what?

I just happen to know what I am dying from

Breast cancer

I did not choose it

It chose me to be stage 4, but it is still me

Why are you so distant?

Why don’t you call or text?

Is it so hard to communicate?

It’s been years

I miss you

I think about you often, but it is getting less, because you don’t answer me anymore

What did I do?

Is it because I have cancer?

We were close, but now distant

I don’t understand it

Can you explain why?

I was always there for you

O, were did you go?

Was it something I said?

Or is it just because I have cancer?

I could really use a friend or 2

Or even that family member that disappeared too

I’m not sure if I did anything

Can we talk?

Can we be friends again?

Can I have my family back?

I did nothing wrong

I only have cancer

Yes, it’s a death wish, but I wish nothing more for my friend and my family to be here for me as I am here

for you

My door is always open for you

For I have already forgiven you

Don’t regret it when I am gone

Just pick up the phone

I am still me

I am still waiting for you

Maybe we will cross paths again

Whether it be here or in heaven

I will be waiting for you

For I am still me, your friend and your family



1 commentaire


Can’tgetME
Can’tgetME
02 août 2022

Such a shame. But there is beauty in your expression. Damn the depths of the human condition. I admire your strength, your resolve, and your acceptance that the world is full of fragile egos.

J'aime
Download the app.png
bottom of page