top of page

Treat, Scan, Repeat: Living with Metastatic Breast Cancer

Updated: Jun 30, 2021

By Vicki McDonald


I have been living with metastatic breast cancer since 10/13/17.  Diagnosed at age 46 on what I would later learn is Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness day. I am a Mom of 2 successful adults and 2 teenagers and a Grandma to one beautiful granddaughter. I have found strength and courage I didn’t know existed  while on this roller coaster.


Treat. Scan. Repeat. For the rest of my life.



I am forever in some sort of treatment to survive. I know I am fortunate. I have made it past the terrifying statistics. I am still  on my first line of treatment. I have found there are advantages of having your mortality looming overhead like a black umbrella- I have been creating messages of love for each child in case I miss out on special events- I want them to forever feel me “cheering for them”.  


I have learned to find something that makes me smile everyday. I appreciate nature and friendships so very much. I have made and unfortunately lost many new friends all over the world in support groups , beautiful young ladies stolen from us too soon . We need more research. Less ribbons. 

In life it’s not if will be tough, it’s when.  I am not afraid of dying, I fear the  heartbreak of those I will be leaving behind.



 

Have a story to share? We'd love to hear from you! Your voice becomes someone else's thriver's guide! Learn more on how to share your story!

Comentários


Download the app.png
bottom of page