top of page

Male Breast Cancer | My Wife Found My Lump

Updated: Jun 22, 2021

By Aubrey Glencamp


In Feb 2016, my wife discovered a lump on my left breast. I made an appointment with my primary doctor within the same week. After taking a look, my doctor just thought it was some fatty tissue, but nothing to worry about since I was losing weight at the time. I continued my life without thinking much of it, but it was always in the back of my mind. I received a call from the Woman's Health Center that they received a referral for me and wanted to schedule me for a mammogram. After going to the center, you could tell I stuck out like a sore thumb. When they called me back for my appointment, I was placed in the hallway to wait for the technician.

I was pressed, pulled, and positioned into the machines for testing. My results came back with some concerns. My biopsy was scheduled a few days later. However, during this time, I was in the middle of a fitness boot camp and was the front runner in the competition for the most weight loss. Since I was so close to the end of the fitness boot camp, I requested to move my appointment out a week since it would restrict me from working out. I ended up winning the boot camp that week and went for my biopsy the next week. I received a call two days later that I was officially diagnosed with Stage II breast cancer. Receiving the call was life-changing. This diagnosis was not my first major event since I had open-heart surgery when I was 19 to remove a tumor around my heart, but this was new for sure. I sat in my car wondering how I would not tell my family the news.

I was the first person in my family to be diagnosed with Breast Cancer and a male. That's right men get Breast Cancer too. I met with my Surgeon and Oncologist to plan out my treatments since I was also Her2+, which is an aggressive form of the disease. My surgery was scheduled before chemotherapy and potentially radiation. The Doctors said if we wanted children, I should visit a fertility clinic before surgery since chemo could make me sterile. My schedule was full between my appointments, work, races, etc. I was unable to get to a fertility clinic before my surgery. Two days before my surgery, by the grace of God, we found out she was pregnant. I l was determined to get through treatment to prepare to be a Father.


I had my surgery and completed five rounds of chemo before my daughter made her debut. I was so excited to ring the bell after my last chemo appointment. Two weeks after my treatment, my daughter was born. I had only heard of Richard Roundtree being diagnosed with Breast Cancer but did not hear much about other guys. I take every opportunity to make sure I share my story because you never know who it may save.

Since my diagnosis, I have shared my story with thousands of people through radio and podcast interviews like BBC networks, fashion shows, organizations, colleges, national magazines like Woman's Health Magazine, and many other social and digital platforms around the world. I want other men out there to get beyond the stigma of having Breast Cancer. Since men also have breast tissue, we can get it as well.



I have continued to work with organizations like the American Cancer Society and a Lead Advocate for the Male Breast Cancer Coalition (MBCC) to continue to spread awareness for the disease.


I live in GA with his wife and four-year-old daughter. In my spare time, I love to hike and play in the mud. You could usually find me running obstacle races on the weekend with his crew. I also love spending time with my daughter and working on her YouTube channel.

Comments


Download the app.png
bottom of page